Learning to love you more

P1010593

Assignment: learningtoloveyoumore.com

In our Art:, Reading, Thinking and writing module we looked at Miranda July’s work and in particularly a project she was involved in entitled ‘learning to love you more’. This project ran from 2002 to 2009, and over 8000 people participated in it.

The website asked the general public to take part ,and create artworks from assignments Miranda July and Harrell Fletcher had created for them.

The public chose one assignment from the lists provided, and completed it following the simple instructions provided for each assignment, Then it was sent in and posted on-line, the aim was to give people an experience of creating their own artworks.

The website:     http://learningtoloveyoumore.com/ 

We were asked to choose one of the assignments listed on the above website i chose

Assignment brief I chose to do:-

  • You may take pictures of the shadows or simply trace them. These solid shapes should then be drawn on paper and coloured in with a single colour.
  • Choose either brown, pink, light green, orange or white. Use only one of these colours.
  • The shadows should appear on the page in a grid formation, in rows. Treat this like an index of shadows rather than a work of abstract art.
  • The finished report should include 10-20 shadows and should be drawn on white paper
  • Do not label this poster in any way, except to write your name and the date on the back. My god these are going to be beautiful.

My Artwork 

  • How I did it: I collected some white paper and I had a look around my environment for shadows to draw. The shadows I chose I found interesting due to the diverse shapes.
  • Why I did it: I chose this assignment because I found the idea therapeutic to draw shapes that are around me. Also I have an interest in drawing therefore I felt it would develop my skills and make me think further about just the shape I am drawing.
  • Why Pink?: I chose pink to colour my shapes in as it is a relaxing colour and I feel that it relates to things I like for example strawberry ice cream
  • What I have learnt?: I learnt a lot doing this assignment as I didn’t realise how shapes can make so many different shadows. Also the idea a shape can change so much depending on the light, for example a moving person.

Leave a comment